concealed carry permit renewal

No one likes inefficient bureaucratic procedures, but renewing a concealed carry permit is a necessary evil.


Although states like Indiana and Tennessee have lifetime handgun permits that cost a bit more, and some like Vermont and Kansas don't even require a permit, not every state's gun owners are as lucky.


Permit renewals are a fact of life for everyday carriers in the U.S. with real consequences, varying time requirements and different procedures.


Consequences Of An Expired CCW Permit

ccw permit renewal

The consequences of carrying with an expired CCW permit may be as severe as being arrested for carrying concealed weapons.


States generally give a window of time after expiration to renew, generally up to 30 days, but it varies.


If that window passes, however, the permit may no longer valid, and the permit holder may be required to apply again not as a renewal applicant, which tends to require less procedures, but instead as a new applicant.


When renewing as a new applicant, another training course may be required, as is a new background check and other long-winded procedures new applicants go through.


Other states incur a late fee, like Washington State, and cut off the renewal status at 90 days. Michigan, however, allows renewal for up to a year after expiration.


Luckily, any possible consequences that a concealed carry permit holder could face due to an expired license are easily avoided by remembering to renew.


Alternatively, if you misplace your concealed carry license there are procedures of getting a replacement as well as laws to follow if you're out and about when it happens.

Renewing A CCW Permit


how to renew a concealed carry permit

Some states notify concealed carriers when they must renew a CCW permit. The Wisconsin Department of Justice does so at least 90 days prior to expiration, as is mandated by Wis. Stat. § 175.60(15)(b).


Many states aren't as kind, so it's a good idea to diligently understand the permit's total lifespan and mark a calendar, or program a reminder on a phone or computer.


Permit expiration dates tend to be listed on the physical license.


Some states incentivize timely renewal by waiving permit training course requirements.


There will be a time limit on how long before expiration one may renew (as low as 30 days in Indiana, up to 90 days in multiple states, and up to 6 months in others).


Kentucky, for example, has a 6 month grace period after expiration. Others are not as kind, only offering a month — which should be ample time to do so.


If it's not evident by now, state laws vary as much as their bureaucratic procedures. Similarly, in some states counties may have different permitting schemas that require different procedures.


Basically, keep that expiration date in mind. Otherwise, there may be serious consequences if caught carrying a concealed weapon without a valid permit.


A quick internet search for a state’s concealed carry permit renewal process will provide all relevant information needed. The process is typically more simple than the initial permit.


On a parting note, if that license isn't renewed and it's no longer valid, it's a better idea to leave the handgun at home and renew the permit as soon as possible. Some legal charges aren't worth defying laws you don't agree with or don't have the time to comply with.


There's a reason so many people call themselves "lawful gun owners." It's because setting an example is more advantageous for the gun-owning community than being made an example.


Here are a couple related blogs Bigfoot Gun Belts has published:

Jake Smith 

About The Author


Jake Smith (@notjakesmith) is a copywriter and photographer based in the Pacific Northwest who enjoys shooting pictures and ammunition outdoors.

purchase gun belt